Women's lacrosse team boasts honors for academic achievement

Women's lacrosse team boasts honors for academic achievement

The Hamilton College women's lacrosse team and seven of its student-athletes have been recognized for exemplary work in the classroom by the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association.

IWLCA Academic Honor Roll | IWLCA Academic Honor Squad

The Continentals earned a 2017 Academic Honor Squad award for posting a team grade point average of 3.0 or better during the most recent academic year. The women collected this honor for the fourth straight year under head coach Patty Kloidt.

For the second year in a row, seven of Kloidt's players made the IWLCA Division III Academic Honor Roll. All honorees must be a junior, senior or graduate student and have a cumulative GPA of 3.50 or better. Hamilton's members of the 2017 honor roll are listed below.

Meg Cahill '18 (Sudbury, Mass./Lincoln-Sudbury Regional HS)
Hattie Duke '18 (Englewood, Colo./Kent Denver School)
Morgan Fletcher '17 (Wayland, Mass./Wayland HS)
Eleni Neyland '18 (Boxborough, Mass./Acton-Boxborough Regional HS)
Hannah Rubin '17 (Atherton, Calif./Menlo School)
Ellison Sherrill '17 (Charlotte, N.C./Myers Park HS)
Lillie Simourian '17 (Dover, Mass./Milton Academy)

All seven made the 2017 NESCAC Spring All-Academic Team and Fletcher was a 2017 IWLCA Division III first team All-American. The Continentals finished the year with an overall record of 12-6 and tied for first in the conference standings at 8-2. The Hamilton women played in the second round of the 2017 NCAA Division III Women's Lacrosse Championship and ended up at No. 14 in the final Top 20 coaches poll of the year.