29 student-athletes honored for academic success

The recipients of the 2017-18 Scholar-Athlete Award at the 2018 Scholar Athlete Luncheon on April 5.
The recipients of the 2017-18 Scholar-Athlete Award at the 2018 Scholar Athlete Luncheon on April 5.

A total of 29 Hamilton College student-athletes were recipients of the 2018 Scholar-Athlete Award at an April 5 luncheon that was part of an NCAA Division III Week celebration.

All 29 Hamilton intercollegiate varsity programs were represented by the athlete with the highest cumulative grade point average on their team.

Athletic Director Jon Hind '80 applauded the award winners for their academic performance, commitment to their teams and contributions to the campus community.

The featured speaker was Jon Stickel '19, who was the Scholar-Athlete Award recipient for the men's hockey team.

"My experience as a student-athlete has been all about routine," Stickel said. "Every day, I wake up knowing that I have something on my calendar to look forward to either athletically or academically. Within my routine, I have opportunities to grow and develop as both an athlete and a student. The routine also challenges me. Some challenges come as the routine changes.

"There are also time challenges. As a math and economics double major, I like to think of the time challenge as constrained optimization. How can I fit as much into my schedule, while still having enough time to sleep? I know that all of the students in this room face similar challenges. Yet, the routine is also dynamic. It changes from semester to semester as our courses change."

2017-18 Scholar-Athlete Award recipients

Baseball - Dan DePaoli '18
Men's Basketball - Matt Moros '18
Women's Basketball - Samantha Srinivasan '18
Men's Cross Country - Peter DeWeirdt '18
Women's Cross Country - Grace Heller '19
Field Hockey - Eleni Neyland '18
Football - Levi Lorenzo '19
Men's Golf - Ben Morgan '19
Women's Golf - Libbie Warner '19
Men's Hockey - Jon Stickel '19
Women's Hockey - Jade Alvillar '18
Men's Lacrosse - Noah Weissmann '18
Women's Lacrosse - Hannah Burrall '19
Men's Rowing - Nick Silvestri '19
Women's Rowing - Claire Callahan '18
Men's Soccer - Joe Harrington '18
Women's Soccer - Kate Whiston '18
Softball - Jodi Weiss '19
Men's Squash - Jonathan Ruth '18
Women's Squash - Danielle Reisley '18
Men's Swimming and Diving - Jesse Bennett '19
Women's Swimming and Diving - Anya Nugent '18
Men's Tennis - Eyad Nagori '18
Women's Tennis - Jane Haffer '19
Men's Indoor Track and Field - Jake Bolster '19
Women's Indoor Track and Field - Emily Steates '19
Men's Outdoor Track and Field - Patrick Malin '18
Women's Outdoor Track and Field - Emily Hull '18
Volleyball - Margaret O'Brien '18