29 student-athletes honored for academic success

29 student-athletes honored for academic success

A total of 29 Hamilton College student-athletes were recipients of the 2017 Scholar-Athlete Award at an April 13 luncheon as a part of NCAA Division III Week.

Each of the 29 Hamilton intercollegiate varsity programs was represented by the athlete with the highest cumulative grade-point average on their team.

Athletic Director Jon Hind '80 applauded the award winners for their academic performance, commitment to their teams and contributions to the campus community.

The featured speaker was Lindsay Heyer '17, who was the Scholar-Athlete Award recipient for the women's cross country team.

"At Hamilton, our coaches and professors expect a lot from us and push us to reach our potential, but they also provide unwavering guidance along the way," said

"I think this sense of community is what makes Hamilton unique, and I am so lucky to have had the opportunity to come here. Most of all, I hope that all of you continue to challenge yourselves and excel in what you do, knowing that you have the support of the Hamilton community behind you."

2016-17 Scholar-Athlete Award recipients

Baseball – Dan DePaoli '18
Men's Basketball – Kyle Pitman '17
Women's Basketball – Samantha Srinivasan '18
Men's Cross Country – Jack Pierce '17
Women's Cross Country - Lindsay Heyer '17
Field Hockey – Emma Anderson '17
Football – Matt Glebus '17
Men's Golf – Joseph Tigani '18
Women's Golf – Charlotte Chandler '17
Men's Hockey – Truman Landowski '17
Women's Hockey – Maddie Carras '18
Men's Indoor Track & Field – Matthew McCarron '17
Women's Indoor Track & Field – Michelle Fish '17
Men's Lacrosse – Noah Weissmann '18
Women's Lacrosse – Eleni Neyland '18
Men's Outdoor Track & Field – Grant Whitney '17
Women's Outdoor Track & Field – Emily Hull '18
Men's Rowing – Mali Barker '17
Women's Rowing – Claire Callahan '18
Men's Soccer – Mike Lubelczyk '17
Women's Soccer – Kathleen Kelly '17
Softball – Daphne Assimakopoulos '17
Men's Squash – Edwin Hamlin '17
Women's Squash – Lillie Simourian '17
Men's Swimming and Diving –Ryan Cassidy '17
Women's Swimming and Diving – Hannah Mooney '17
Men's Tennis – Jon Cohen '17
Women's Tennis – Claire Keyte '17
Volleyball – Christine Zizzi '18